How Technology is Changing How We Act

It wouldn’t be surprising to say like many people born in this generation Video Games played a big part in my life when I was younger. In elementary school coming home and turning on the PlayStation to play some game with brother was all the release from the “stress” of the day that I needed. As time progressed and I got older, videogames became a social tool that helped me stay in touch with friends all across the globe. So, it does not take me by surprise that video games can act as a useful tool in a variety of aspects.

Things happen fast in Hockey “Ice Hockey sharks ducks” by Elliot – http://www.flickr.com/photos/pointnshoot/1426010816/. Licensed under CC BY 2.0 via Commons –

For instance Daphne Bavelier in her talk about Your brain on Video Games mentions that gamers have an improved attention. While for me this attention boost does not mean that I can sit in a lecture and be attentive for the entire class period; I certainly have the ability to decipher multiple moving objects from the other more easily than someone who is older and does not play games.  A great example of this may be when I am watching sports with my father. Watching Hockey involves not only tracking 10 players but trying to see a 3 inch puck travel at speeds up to 100 miles an hour. I have asked my dad about a play and we have a noticeable difference in the ability of deciphering what occurred.

Watching sports is not the only difference the digital world and interactive media has on me. Technology has become my aide throughout every activity that I take a part of, from waking up to walking to studying for classes, some screen is there. In that end I can not remember the last time I have gone more than full day without looking at some sort of interactive medium. To that end I echo the statement that the blog on Abha Deshwar promotes, “Leisure time on the Internet is less about pursuing a singular interest than allowing it to be flooded by other, unrelated interests”. My “free” time has become so much less about enjoying myself and has been become about the outside inconsequential world which should remain unconnected to me.

Leave a Reply

